#110 | Let’s Talk About Weight, Bay-Bee

It’s finally Friday! What a wonderful feeling! Today, we’re gonna depart a little from the usual sparkly, pretty, wedding stuff and talk about something a little more per-so-nal. It’s a wonderful roller coaster I like to call: my weight. And I’m gonna use the real numbers here.

Back in May, I blogged about my journey to hit my goal weight of 135 in time for my wedding in July (coming from 166.5 in November). I got within a pound or two thanks to an amazing nutrition plan, an awesome team of trainers, and a LOT of hard work. I was so proud of myself. I had to trade my wedding dress in for a smaller size twice and then had to have the smallest one taken in even more!

healthyfitandtoned.tumblr.com via Pinterest

Then I got married. I went on my honeymoon. I came home. And I got laid off. I spent all my free time applying to jobs, interviewing for jobs, and sulking about being laid off. I stopped eating the way I was supposed to eat and I stopped working out completely. I was one of those girls who got in crazy amazing shape for her wedding and then just let her self go. CRAP. And to add to the fun, I found out in August that I’m gluten intolerant.

So I got a new job (that I actually really love by the way) and things were looking up. I was eating OK, but not great. I was having salad everyday from the cafeteria at work (it’s the safest thing down there if you can’t have gluten), but I added things I shouldn’t, like big piles of cheese, bacon bits, and dried cranberries (stupid added sugar). And I still wasn’t working out.

Then this past Sunday I was feeling pretty crappy. I was tired, I felt bloated, my pants weren’t fitting right anymore. I knew it was time to face the music. I stepped on the scale and wanted to cry. 146.9. I had gained 10 pounds since the wedding. It wasn’t just the weight. It was how I felt. Tired, sad, unmotivated. I knew from working with my nutritionist that my mood was directly related to my food. I was eating crap, thus, I felt like crap. I decided to try something new.

A little before the wedding, Erik started a diet almost entirely of shakes. He was never overweight, but had started to get a little bit of a belly. He’d been watching a lot of documentaries about how many illnesses are caused by poor diet and decided to make a change. He’s lost more than 20 pounds since the summer, with NO CHANGE in activity. He had to buy new pants and drill new holes in all his belts. Plus, he feels amazing! So I decided to do it too.

onceamonthmom.com via Pinterest

I have one shake for breakfast, one for lunch, and one for dinner. In between meals, if I get hungry, I have a snack of either: nuts, seeds, fruit, or vegetables (or any flavor of Lara Bar which doesn’t have chocolate). Surprisingly, I don’t snack very much, because I’m not very hungry. My shakes are full of such good food, that my body is actually nourished by them and doesn’t want to snack all day. (Crazy right?!)

Wanna know what’s better? I got on the scale today, and guess what it said: 141.6. I’ve lost five pounds in under a week (weighed at the same time of day, under the same conditions, in same weight clothes).

nattybydesign.blogspot.com via Pinterest

Just to clarify: We are not juicing. When you are juicing, you throw away the fiber of the fruit/vegetable and only get the sugary liquid. For that reason, some people experience stomach discomfort when juicing. You’ll lose weight fast, but you won’t be getting all the benefits of the fruit and veggies that live in that yummy fiber! We throw everything in the blender whole: vegetables, fruit, nuts, beans, seeds, I even toss in a teaspoon of cinnamon for a little extra kick! They are sweet, easy to make, portable, and JAM PACKED with healthiness.

Now eating a diet of raw, organic, veggies, fruit, nuts, beans, and seeds can get a little pricey, so here are some tips for saving a couple bucks:

  1. Check your local bulk/warehouse stores. We have a Costco and BJ’s nearby. Costco sells organic spinach and carrots for really cheap. We buy big bags of frozen organic fruit from BJ’s.
  2. Stock up when things go on sale and freeze them. Frozen veggies only make your shake colder and yummier.
  3. Buy in bulk whenever possible. When it comes to nuts, seeds, and beans, we buy them in the self serve area of Whole Foods instead of buying a packaged brand name an aisle away.

We don’t add any supplements to our shakes. The protein in our shakes comes from foods that are naturally high in protein (like nuts and avocado). We also don’t add dairy of any kind. (Basically I think we went vegan without meaning to.)

I think my biggest problem this last time around, was that I was so focused on hitting a certain weight by July 4th (wedding day) that I forgot to look beyond that day. I wanted to look amazing in my wedding dress, and I think I did, but my goal shouldn’t have been to weigh 135 for one day, it should have been to maintain a healthy body for life. I knew that, but I didn’t follow through, and now I know that’s what I have to work on.

health-girl.tumblr.com via Pinterest

I feel reinvigorated. I feel excited. I feel proud. I’m done with weight goals. I’m only setting fitness goals from now on. I want to see visible ab muscles this summer (I’m not talking about a six pack, just definition). I want to run at least 3 5k’s this year. I want to encourage other people to take healthy steps with their nutrition.

So if you struggle with weight, know that you aren’t alone. But also know, that you can do something about it if you choose to. What’s your story? Share it in the comments. Have questions about our shakes? Ask away! As always, I love to hear from you :)

xo

UPDATE:

I was asked on Twitter for a recipe and it wouldn’t fit there, so I’m adding it here. This is my “usual” shake. Note: I make a large batch each night and put it in a glass jug for the next day. This recipe makes me approx 3 shakes. This is the order I put them in the blender (light on bottom, heavy on top will push the food down into the blades and ensure smoother shake). We have a Blendtec blender and I hit the “smoothie” button twice to get the consistency I like.

  • 1 Large Kale leaf (or 2 small leaves) broken in a few pieces
  • 1 handful of spinach
  • 2.5 carrots full sized carrots (i give the last half to my greedy puppy)
  • 2 sticks of celery
  • 1/2 of one large tomato (or one plumb tomato or a handful of grape tomatoes)
  • 1/2 of one apple
  • 1 handful of almonds
  • 1/2 tablespoon of flax seed (approximately. I just kinda shake it in there)
  • 1/2 cup of pinto beans (soaked overnight)
  • 1 handful of blueberries
  • 2 handfuls of mixed frozen berries (strawberries, blackberries, and raspberries)
  • 1 cup of orange juice
  • water if needed/desired (will be thicker without it. I don’t use water, Erik does.)
6 thoughts on “#110 | Let’s Talk About Weight, Bay-Bee

  1. I’m striving to be healthier and eat healthier… my friend is very much into organic foods and brought me to a co-op. My issue was that everything is SUPER expensive… and then, on the way out she treated me to a “juice.” I know you’re doing shakes, not juices, but… Does it really taste good? I feel like I’m so used to sweetened, unhealthy things… the juice I had that day was terrible. How did you decide on what to put into your shake?

    • My shakes are super yummy! Erik puts broccoli in his and although it’s my favorite veggie I don’t like the way it tastes in the shake with everything else. I put more berries in my shakes than Erik does because I prefer letting the fruity flavors mask the veggie flavors. Tomatoes add some sweetness. Carrots and spinach are pretty mild. I hate the taste of bananas, so I don’t add those, but Erik does, and when he does, it seems to take over a lot of the flavor, so if you like banana toss that in. He also uses pineapple which he says is really good. When I first started “shaking” I was doing all fruit with one carrot and a little spinach. Then I slowly added veggies testing what I liked and what I didn’t until I found a fully loaded shake I loved. It’s an adjustment for sure, but I feel so much better when I’m shaking, it’s worth a short adjustment period. Good luck! Let me know if you have other questions :)

      • Janna! We tried one tonight! It was pretty bad, definitely not a shake success. I’m not giving up, but I definitely have to switch up some of the ingredients… I didn’t follow your recipe, just tried a few fruits and some kale. I blogged about it, and linked back to this post so my readers can see your recipe and hopefully try a tasty one!

  2. Pingback: #111 | Wedding Food & a Shake Update | sparklylovedotcom

Leave a Reply

